Do I have a personal injury case?

Possibly. If someone else’s negligence caused you to suffer damages, you might have a case. The team at Saavedra Law Firm can assess your situation and help you with the next steps.

What should I do after an accident?

After an accident, there are several important steps to take. Take photos of the accident scene as well as your injuries. Be sure to write down all the details you can remember about the accident while it is still fresh. If there were witnesses, get their contact information. Make sure to seek medical care, even if you feel fine. Injuries can be hidden at first and present themselves days later. Be sure to follow your doctor’s care plan. After an auto accident, you will need to contact your insurance company and file a claim. If you were seriously injured, you should contact a lawyer for further steps.

What should I ask my lawyer?

Ask your lawyer about their costs. Most personal injury lawyers work on contingency, meaning that you will only have to pay if you win. Your lawyer will then take a percentage of your award, which could be 33%-40%. Also, ask your lawyer about their experience handling cases similar to yours. What is their success rate? You should also inquire about how much time they can devote to your case and approximately how long it will take to resolve your case.

How much is my case worth?

The value of your case is determined by various factors. Each case is unique and needs to be looked at thoroughly. Economic damages will be looked at. These include lost wages, medical expenses, property damage, and any other calculated expenses. Non-economic damages like pain and suffering are harder to calculate, but your lawyer can help determine the value of all your damages, and this will help calculate the total amount of your case.

Can I still recover compensation for damages if I am partially at fault?

Yes. Arizona operates under comparative negligence laws. This means that an injured party can recover compensation for damages suffered in an accident, even if they are as much as 99% at fault. However, the monetary damages are reduced by the amount of liability. For example, if there is $100,000 in damages following a car accident, and the person is 50% at fault, their damages will be reduced by 50%, so they will receive $50,000. However, a plaintiff will be blocked from any compensation if they intentionally caused an injury.

How long do I have to file a personal injury claim?

Each state has different timelines for filing a claim. In Arizona, the statute of limitations is two years. This means you have two years from the date of the injury to file a compensation claim. If you are even one day late, you will be barred from any financial recovery.

Contact Us For A
Free, No Obligation
Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.